Festival Poster

The Fest

The Oak Cliff Film Festival 2017 theme was inspired by minimalist artwork and The Golden Ratio, a mathematical idea that proposes artistic composition of all types adheres to an unspoken natural order. The state of the film industry was widely thought to be in a transitional time, one that many were both excited and apprehensive about. As people looked for new ways to make and present the medium, there was and is increasingly less concern about sticking to established modes of creation in film. In that climate, it seemed appropriate to underscore the most basic tenant of filmmaking: “looking”, without any attachment to a specific iconography or strict definition of genre.

Our 6th annual OCFF took place from June 8-11, 2017 and, as always, featured the historic Texas Theatre, Kessler Theater, Bishop Arts Theater, and other venues in north Oak Cliff.

A few highlights… 

  • •Full house for the Texas Premiere and homecoming of David Lowery’s award-winning, Irving-shot A Ghost Story at The Texas Theatre, attended by David Lowery and followed by a special Q&A.
  • Had a Jodorowsky triple header: the Texas Premiere of Endless Poetry, a repertory screening of Santa Sangre (1989), and a live acoustic performance by Adan Jodorowksy (Adanowsky) at the Texas Theatre
  • Screened a 35mm print of Porto, one of renowned late actor Anton Yelchin’s final roles.
  • •Hosted a free outdoor screening of 1986 classic Something Wild in honor of the late Jonathan Demme
  • Live performances by New Fumes, Dallas Acid, ATOP, and Subsahara at the historic Texas Theatre.


The 2017 awards jury included Eric Allen Hatch, Director of Programming for MdFF and Co-Founder the Red Room Collective, the experimental-music organization behind the High Zero festival; founding editor of Hammer To Nail and acclaimed filmmaker Michael Tully; Kyle Greenberg, the Theatrical Marketing Manager at Gunpowder & Sky; OCFF Alumni and writer/director/editor Sai Selvarajan; Don Lewis, Editor of Hammer to Nail and former Managing Editor at Film Threat; Associate Dean of the Meadows School of the Arts and an Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies at Southern Methodist University, David Sedman; Zach Clark, the writer/director of LITTLE SISTER, WHITE REINDEER, VACATION!, and MODERN LOVE IS AUTOMATIC; filmmaker, programmer, video-store owner, industry consultant, and journalist Aaron Hillis; Joe Dishner, the founding co-publisher of The Austin Chronicle and a film Producer, Line Producer, and Unit Production Manager for over 30 years; Founder and Director of Thin Line Fest, Joe Butler; Jeff Walker, a commercial and independent film producer with notable work on Shane Carruth’s UPSTREAM COLOR and OCFF Grant Recipient JINH; award-winning filmmaker, educator and director/founder of the Dallas Video Festival and KERA’s “Frame of Mind” producer Bart Weiss; and Glenys Quick, who teaches filmmaking at The Hockaday School in Dallas, TX.


Narrative Features

Grand Jury Prize: La Barracuda, Dir. Julia Halperin and Jason Cortlund

Documentary Features

Grand Jury Prize: True Conviction, Dir. Jamie Meltzer and the men of True Conviction, Christopher Scott, Johnnie Lindsey, and Steven Phillips

Special Jury Prize for Visual Portraiture: World Without End, Dir. Jem Cohen

Narrative Shorts

Grand Jury Prize: Pregnant, Dir. Joseph Sackett

Documentary Shorts

Grand Jury Prize: Polaroid Job, Dir. Mike Plante

Special Jury Prize: Richard Twice, Dir. Matthew Salton

Student Shorts

Grand Jury Prize: South Texas Cow Punk, dir. Dir. Carlo Nasisse